top of page


Jackson County is one of the 36 counties in Oregon. There are eleven incorporated cities in Jackson County. The county seat is Medford. Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, the seventh president of the United States, and comprises the Medford, OR Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Ashland, Butte Falls, Central Point

press to zoom

Eagle Point, Gold Hill, Jacksonville

press to zoom

Talent, Shady Cove

press to zoom

Ashland, Butte Falls, Central Point

press to zoom

Some County Facts

Population (2020): 223,240

Established: Jan. 12, 1852

Elev. at Medford: 1,382'

Area: 2,801 sq. mi.

Average Temp.: January 37.6°  July 72.5°

Annual Precipitation: 19.84"

Economy: Medical, retail, tourism, agriculture, 

manufacturing and forest products


Cities of Jackson County

Ashland | Butte Falls | Central Point | Eagle Point | Gold Hill | Jacksonville | Medford | Phoenix | Rogue River | Shady Cove | Talent 


Points of Interest

Mount Ashland Ski Resort, Historic Jacksonville, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Peter Britt Music Festival, Southern Oregon University, Pear Orchards, Howard Prairie Lake, Emigrant Lake, Hyatt Lake, Fish Lake, Rogue River, Lithia Park, Lost Creek Dam, Butte Creek Mill, Crater Lake Highway, wineries, Rogue Community College


Some Demographics

Jackson County Demographics


County Budget Figures

Total Revenues and Expenditures, 2017 – 2022


County Organizational Chart

Jackson County Organization



Airport, Community Justice, County Administration, County Counsel, Development Services,   

Finance, Health and Human Services, Information and Technology, Roads and Parks


County information from the State of Oregon Bluebook


bottom of page